Birla Open Minds Preschool Franchise Cost in India (2026)
Every article about the Birla Open Minds preschool franchise puts the cost at ₹10–12 lakh and promises up to 200% ROI. Two things rarely get said. First, the brand is not part of the Aditya Birla Group, as many people assume. It belongs to the Yash Birla Group. Second, the other numbers online do not match: ₹12–20 lakh, ₹25–50 lakh, and a royalty quoted as 5%, 10% or 10–15%.
Here is the short version. The Birla Open Minds preschool franchise cost is ₹10–12 lakh according to the brand’s own website, for a 1,200–2,000 sq. ft. centre including the franchise fee. But two third-party breakdowns add the franchise fee and the infrastructure separately and reach ₹15–18 lakh, and our own budget lands at ₹15–22 lakh once fit-out and working capital are counted. The royalty is not published at all.
This guide sets out what the brand says, what the web says, and what to get in writing before you pay anything.
🌟 About Birla Open Minds
Birla Open Minds Education Ltd (earlier Birla Edutech Ltd) is a company of the Yash Birla Group. It is not part of the Aditya Birla Group, a distinction worth knowing because the shared surname leads many investors to assume the larger group’s backing. The first Birla Open Minds school opened in 2010, and the brand’s own school websites now describe a network of 101+ preschools and 90+ K-12 schools across India.
Many of those schools are run by independent local education societies rather than by the company itself. Careers360 lists individual Birla Open Minds schools as managed by bodies such as the DSR Educational Society, Bodha Educational Society, Pragna Educational and Cultural Trust and Trinity Society. That is the franchise model working in practice: the Birla brand and academic system, with a local operator behind each school.
🤝 Two Franchise Tracks
|
Track |
Space |
Investment (brand’s figure) |
Claimed ROI |
|---|---|---|---|
|
Preschool |
1,200–2,000 sq. ft. |
₹10–12 lakh including franchise fee |
Up to 200% |
|
K-12 school |
Minimum 2 acres (CBSE norms) |
₹10–12 crore including franchise fee |
Up to 30% |
Most readers searching for the franchise cost want the preschool track, so this guide focuses on it. The K-12 track is a land-and-building investment of a different order, with other sources putting it at ₹3–15 crore depending on how it is structured.
💰 Birla Open Minds Preschool Franchise Cost in India
🚨 What Different Sources Report
|
Source |
Investment |
Franchise Fee |
|---|---|---|
|
Brand’s own website |
₹10–12 lakh (including fee) |
Included |
|
FranchiseIndia listing |
₹20–30 lakh |
₹5 lakh |
|
Two franchise databases |
₹15–18 lakh (₹12–15 lakh infrastructure + fee) |
~₹3 lakh |
|
Franchise guide sites |
₹12–20 lakh |
₹3–5 lakh |
|
Other guide sites |
₹15–25 lakh and ₹25–50 lakh |
Not stated |
The pattern is clear. The brand’s ₹10–12 lakh is the lowest figure anywhere, and it is lower than what the fee and infrastructure add up to in two independent breakdowns (₹3 lakh fee plus ₹12–15 lakh infrastructure is ₹15–18 lakh). The higher estimates generally assume a larger space of 3,000–5,000 sq. ft. The ₹10–12 lakh figure most likely assumes a space that is already usable and a lean fit-out.
✅ NWB Budget: Realistic Preschool Investment
|
Cost Head |
Estimated Amount |
|---|---|
|
Franchise fee (reported ₹3–5 lakh) |
₹3–5 lakhs |
|
Interiors, fit-out and painting |
₹5–7 lakhs |
|
Furniture, play equipment and outdoor area |
₹3–4 lakhs |
|
Curriculum kits, teaching aids and initial stock |
₹1–1.5 lakhs |
|
Branding, signage, CCTV and safety fixtures |
₹1–1.5 lakhs |
|
Licences and registrations |
₹0.2–0.5 lakh |
|
Working capital (about 3 months) |
₹2–3 lakhs |
|
Total |
₹15–22 lakhs |
This is an NWB estimate assembled from several sources, not a Birla Open Minds quote. Rent and any lease deposit are additional. Ask the company for a written cost sheet for your specific space.
🚨 The Royalty Question
The brand does not publish a royalty rate. Third-party sources disagree:
|
What Is Claimed |
Where It Appears |
|---|---|
|
About 5% royalty (95% of revenue stays with you) |
Older franchise listings |
|
10% royalty |
FranchiseIndia listing |
|
10–15% royalty |
A recent guide site |
|
Not stated |
The brand’s own Partner With Us page |
The listings that say 5% are several years old, and the more recent ones lean toward 10% or higher. Treat 10% as a working assumption for planning, not a fact. On 100 enrolled students paying ₹3,500 a month, a 10% royalty is ₹35,000 a month, or about ₹21 lakh over a 5-year term, roughly the size of the entire investment. Get these in writing before signing:
- The exact royalty percentage and whether it applies to gross fee collection or net
- Any separate marketing, curriculum or technology fee
- Any mandatory purchases of books, uniforms or learning kits from the brand
- What happens at renewal
📈 Profit Reality: What a Centre Can Earn
The brand’s headline is “up to 200% ROI”, but it does not say over what period, and it is not a promise. One franchise database goes further and claims payback in 1–2 months. That cannot be right: no centre earns ₹15–20 lakh in two months. Other sources say 1 year, and another says 2–3 years. To judge it yourself, here is a modelled monthly P&L:
|
Item |
Conservative (50 children) |
Good Location (100 children) |
|---|---|---|
|
Average monthly fee per child (assumption) |
₹3,000 |
₹3,500 |
|
Monthly fee income |
₹1.5 lakhs |
₹3.5 lakhs |
|
Royalty (10% assumed) |
₹15,000 |
₹35,000 |
|
Rent (1,200–2,000 sq. ft.) |
₹35,000 |
₹50,000 |
|
Staff (teachers, helpers, coordinator) |
₹55,000 |
₹1.2 lakhs |
|
Materials, utilities, marketing |
₹25,000 |
₹50,000 |
|
Net Monthly Profit |
~₹20,000 |
~₹95,000 |
|
Net Margin |
~13% |
~27% |
The fee per child is an NWB assumption. Birla Open Minds does not publish franchise fee levels. Check what comparable preschools charge in your area. One-time admission and annual fees are not modelled.
🔍 What this means:
- At a ₹3,000 fee, the centre needs about 43 enrolled children just to cover its fixed costs.
- At 100 children, a ₹15–22 lakh investment pays back in roughly 16–23 months, which is in line with the “2–3 years” sources.
- At 50 children, payback takes more than 6 years. “Up to 200% ROI” is a best case, not the expected case.
🚩 Risks Worth Knowing
- Terms are not public. The royalty, fees and renewal terms are reported inconsistently, so everything depends on the written agreement.
- Smaller network than the market leaders. With 101+ preschools against 2,000+ for Kidzee, local brand awareness will vary a lot by city. You may have to build it yourself.
- Enrollment ramp-up. Most preschool centres take 2–3 admission cycles to reach profitable enrollment.
- Seasonal cash flow. Admissions peak between January and April, while May and December are lean months in which rent and salaries continue.
- Name confusion cuts both ways. Parents may assume the Aditya Birla Group stands behind the brand. Do not rely on that assumption yourself.
📋 Eligibility and Requirements
- 1,200–2,000 sq. ft. of space (the brand’s stated range), ideally ground floor with safe access
- ₹15–22 lakhs of capital, including working capital, plus rent and deposit
- No prior education experience required, as the brand offers academic and operational handholding
- Ability to hire and retain trained teachers and manage parents
- A franchise term of around 5 years according to one older listing; confirm in the agreement
🛠️ What the Brand Provides
According to franchise listings of the programme, support covers infrastructure development, curriculum implementation, teacher training, operations, marketing, branding and IT. The group also runs teacher-training programmes, listing ECCED (Birla Institute for Teacher Training) among its specialities.
🛠️ How to Apply for a Birla Open Minds Preschool Franchise
🧾 Step 1: Submit an Enquiry
Use the “Partner With Us” page on the official Birla Open Minds website. Avoid agents who promise guaranteed approval.
📝 Step 2: Face-to-Face Meeting
The brand’s franchise process includes a personal meeting before the setup is finalised.
📄 Step 3: Get the Terms in Writing
India has no mandatory franchise disclosure document, so nothing forces the company to hand you one. Ask for the draft agreement and a written cost sheet covering the fee, royalty, mandatory purchases and renewal. Have a lawyer read it first.
✍️ Step 4: Agreement, Fit-Out and Training
Sign the agreement, complete the fit-out to brand standards and complete teacher training.
🚀 Step 5: Launch Before Admission Season
Aim to open ahead of the January–April admission window rather than mid-year.
🌆 Location: What Works
|
Location Type |
Verdict |
Why |
|---|---|---|
|
Residential colonies with many young families |
✅ Excellent |
The core catchment for any preschool |
|
Tier-2 and Tier-3 cities with few branded preschools |
✅ Very good |
Lower rent, and the Birla name carries weight |
|
Near hospitals or clinics with a young-family base |
✅ Good |
Natural referral flow |
|
Competitive Tier-1 colonies with several preschools |
⚠️ Moderate |
A smaller network means less brand pull against Kidzee and EuroKids |
|
Commercial or office districts |
❌ Poor |
No residential catchment |
|
Close to another Birla Open Minds preschool |
❌ Poor |
Splits the same families |
⚖️ Birla Open Minds vs Kidzee vs Bachpan vs EuroKids
|
Parameter |
Birla Open Minds |
Kidzee |
Bachpan |
EuroKids |
|---|---|---|---|---|
|
Investment |
₹10–12 lakh (brand); ₹15–22 lakh (NWB budget) |
₹15–25 lakhs |
₹12–20 lakhs |
₹15–22 lakhs |
|
Royalty |
Not published; 5–15% reported |
10–15% (verify) |
Exists, rate undisclosed |
Reportedly zero or performance-based |
|
Network |
101+ preschools |
2,000+ centres |
1,200+ centres |
2,200+ centres |
|
Owner |
Yash Birla Group |
Zee Learn |
S.K. Educations |
KKR / Lighthouse Learning |
|
Unique angle |
Same brand runs K-12 schools |
Largest network |
AHPS K-12 pathway |
Premium positioning |
Read: Kidzee Franchise Cost in India | Bachpan Franchise Cost in India| Eurokids Franchise Cost in India
✅ Who Should Open One
- Investors with ₹15–22 lakhs who want a preschool brand with a Birla name and a lower entry price than the largest chains
- Operators in Tier-2 or Tier-3 cities where branded preschools are still scarce
- Anyone willing to build local awareness, since the network is much smaller than the market leaders’
- Investors who get the royalty and fee terms in writing before paying a rupee
❌ Who Should NOT
- Anyone who believes the “up to 200% ROI” claim without modelling their own enrollment
- Investors who assume the Aditya Birla Group is behind the brand
- Anyone without a cash buffer for the first 1–2 years and the May/December lean months
- Anyone expecting passive income
FAQs: Birla Open Minds Preschool Franchise Cost
What is the Birla Open Minds preschool franchise cost?
The brand’s own website states ₹10–12 lakh including the franchise fee, for a 1,200–2,000 sq. ft. preschool. Third-party estimates run from ₹12 lakh to ₹50 lakh, and NWB’s own budget for a realistic centre, including fit-out and working capital, is ₹15–22 lakh. Rent and deposit are extra.
What is the Birla Open Minds franchise fee?
Sources report ₹3–5 lakh, with ₹3 lakh and ₹5 lakh both appearing. The brand does not publish it, so ask for it in writing.
Does Birla Open Minds charge a royalty?
Yes, according to most sources, but the rate is not officially published. Older listings say about 5%, and more recent ones say 10% or 10–15%. Use 10% for planning and confirm in the agreement.
Is Birla Open Minds part of the Aditya Birla Group?
No. Birla Open Minds Education Ltd is a Yash Birla Group company, according to the brand’s own school websites.
What ROI can I expect from a Birla Open Minds preschool?
The brand claims “up to 200%”, without a time period. Our model shows about 16–23 months payback at 100 enrolled children and more than 6 years at 50. Enrollment decides which outcome you get.
How many Birla Open Minds schools are there?
The brand’s school websites cite 101+ preschools and 90+ K-12 schools across India. Many are run by local education societies.
How much does a Birla Open Minds K-12 school franchise cost?
The brand states ₹10–12 crore including the franchise fee, on a minimum of 2 acres under CBSE norms. Other sources quote ₹3–15 crore depending on the structure.
Do I need education experience?
No. The brand states it provides academic and operational support, though you will need strong people-management skills to hire and retain teachers.
Read: Top Preschool Franchise in India
🧠 Final Thoughts: Is the Birla Open Minds Preschool Franchise Worth It?
Possibly, for the right operator and location. The entry price is lower than most national preschool chains, and the Birla name carries weight in smaller cities. But the brand’s ₹10–12 lakh figure is the lowest estimate anywhere, the royalty is unpublished, “up to 200% ROI” has no stated period, and a network of 101+ preschools gives you less ready-made awareness than the market leaders. Model your numbers at 50 and 100 children, budget ₹15–22 lakh rather than ₹10–12 lakh, and do not pay anything until the royalty and fee terms are in writing.
Investment figures, royalty rates and profit estimates are indicative, based on the brand’s own website, third-party listings that disagree with each other, and NWB’s own modelling. Verify all current terms directly with Birla Open Minds before any financial commitment.

We are a passionate and dedicated team of small business experts, committed to helping entrepreneurs and small business owners achieve their dreams. With a wealth of experience and a deep understanding of the unique challenges faced by small businesses, our mission is to provide new business ideas, actionable insights, and practical advice, to fuel your business growth.